Nerd: Know Thy Self

I’m a nerd, so I can talk about them much the same way I can talk about Black people. I can talk about Niggas too, even though I’m not one, but politically CORRECT RACISM says Black/Nigger is a tomato/tomoto kind of thing.

Actually, anyone can talk about nerds because its a HUMAN FLAW. Flaw? Yeah, I said it – or as a nerd would point out I “wrote” it and a dweeb would MOST correctly point out I “typed” it. Nitpickiness is subtle  intellectual DOMINATION legitimized by truth, which clashes with the basic desire for social acceptance and equality. Wonder why nerds mainly organize in small groups like a pack of stray mutts? Its because of this anti-social ironically excluding aspect – the pack NEEDS to know, PICARD or SISKO?

No one is the Alpha

Over specialization or obsession in an area of obscure trivial interest MAKES you a NERD. Such focus in varying degrees separates the nerd from others of more common interest (normals, Muggles, non-mutants, non-Jedi) – and EVEN nerds of different type. Was Battlestar Galactica better than Babylon 5? The answer will earn you a nerd nemesis, NOT help with the national debt NOR arouse an ordinary geek girl – yet the battle for CORRECTNESS is like the quest of an unfashionable HIGHLANDER.

I’ve seen nerds on double dates – IT HAPPENS – get involved in HEATED debate and forget their girlfriends. These women will NEVER feel a tenth as much PASSION in their intimacy, so they politely chat with each other about Japanese animation – the wheelhouse of the average nerdette.

6 Responses to “Nerd: Know Thy Self”

  1. “Actually, anyone can talk about nerds because its a HUMAN FLAW.”

    While the use of “flaw” here is debatable, the (sad) truth is that we’re all a little AUTISTIC

    http://www.amazon.com/Create-Your-Own-Economy-Prosperity/dp/0525951237/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1252098895&sr=8-1

    “PICARD or SISKO”

    False dichotomy; the correct answer is Sheridan

    “Over specialization or obsession in an area of obscure trivial interest MAKES you a NERD.”

    I’m sure the world of sports enthusiasts will be glad to hear of their newly downgraded social status.

    “…so they politely chat with each other about Japanese animation – the wheelhouse of the average nerdette.”

    More likely is manga
    More likely than that is Yaoi, specifically
    More likely than that is Yaoi fanfiction. That they write themselves. And are coordinating with friends online to get the Doujinshi of that made.

    Yes, I am a nerd.

  2. A little Aspergerian specifically.

    Sheridan not being an option, you’re choosing hacksaw over either apples or oranges.

    Sports enthusiasm = not obscure. Sports nerds may exist; I’ll never know.

    Key word = AVERAGE, not the queen goddess Otaku 😉

  3. “Sheridan not being an option, you’re choosing hacksaw over either apples or oranges.”

    And…I’m ok with that. 🙂

    That’s the trouble with First Past the Post voting, you invariably end up with just two choices, neither truly reflecting your tastes. Worse still, living between San Francisco and silicon valley, my vote doesn’t count for anything anyway. Alas, the rub of being a scifi Independent. 😉

    “Key word = AVERAGE, not the queen goddess Otaku”

    My experiences at the FanimeCons I’ve attended says otherwise. Tho in the spirit of fairness, I freely acknowledge that most things flourishing in California culture may not necessarily constitute “average” respectless of interest. 😉

    “Sports enthusiasm = not obscure. Sports nerds may exist; I’ll never know.”

    There are definitely sports nerd but, To refernce an erlier blog post, they are living in closet denial that the act is remotely nerd like. For instance, I’ve sat in the “Black Hole” and “Mount Davis” over at Oakland Colosseum and there are guys there who aren’t merely showing support for the team — they’re doing COSPLAY.

    At this time I wish to enter People’s Exhibit A into evidence, your honor:

    Also, tell me if you’ve heard this before.:

    A gathering of two or more fans of a game share speculation on the probability of an outcome based on the statistical strengths of parties in the field of play and any tactical options options available. Furthermore, sharing backgrounds and stronger narrative moments of that party’s history while consuming snack foods.

    My position is that we are all nerds but only WE acknowledge it.

  4. I’ve EVERYTHING of B5 and Trek, I choose Sisko over Sheridan.

    There are Sports nerds but we are not all nerds. Some are nerdish in a non-trivial field. Some have no passion that great towards anything.

  5. I’ve had discussions with my geeky, football loving friends about whether extreme fans are nerds. I shared the commentary about to prove my point. 😀

    There is a guy at my job who is a Steelers fan. He has a spreadsheet where he keeps track of who the Steelers play, where he watched the game, and what he was wearing. They lost so badly the one time he wore Steelers boxers that he has vowed to never do that again. If that isn’t a nerd, I don’t know what is.

    • I would agree that he’s a nerd in terms of his obsession for the Steelers, but the obscurity of sports fan I question. Steelers play in Superbowls watched by tens of millions Americans. Comic conventions are attended by hundreds of thousands Americans viewed as geeks. Nerdom is a sub or counter-culture by definition.

      A fan of a Negro League baseball team – I could more easily see as a sports nerd. They do exist.

Leave a Reply

